Thoughts

Posted: 04/27/2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So I was thinking the other day…that’s a new one for me!  Seriously though, I bought the newspaper a few days in a row.  I never buy it, only for the classified ads, and maybe the Obits.  The last time I bought it was at least a month ago, and two people I knew were in the Obits on the same day.  I steered clear for a while after that!  I don’t know what possessed me to buy it that day, but clearly I needed to read it.

That is just it too, I don’t watch the news or read the paper.  I get so pissed off and worked up over stupid shit that is going on.  I am certain in another life I was some sort of activist.  I am positive I burned a bra.  I might have been apart of the underground railroad.  I know I was a supporter of equality among the sexes (women’s lib).  When I read the news, especially political shit, I just get this anger and disgusted feeling inside me.  It is horrible.  When I watch it on TV it is nearly as bad.  Even some of the “positive” stuff bothers me. 

Matt and I occasionally talk about politics and/or religion.  It is rare.  We have similar view points on certain issues, but we also respect each other’s views.  One thing we do not get into at any sort of social gathering is religion and politics.  It ALWAYS ends in a feud of some sort.  I prefer to keep that out of my home as much as possible.  I do not want religious sorts knocking on my door preaching to me, asking me to join up, or any of that.  I don’t want politicians either.  They always ask if I vote, well I do.  Then they ask if I have any concerns, well I do.  When I launch into it, they are quick to back away, or tell me I need to talk to so-and-so about that.  If you really don’t want to know, don’t waste my time asking! 

The state of our county today is two-fold.  I feel like we are in an economic depression, and yet we are still fortunate compared to some other countries.  I don’t like supporting a war, while things are so bad here.  No offense, but I don’t like supporting other countries re-building natural disasters, or their orphans, while we have those same problems here.  I feel like wealthy Americans are eager to jump in and offer hand outs to the rest of the world, but expect their fellow Americans to just get a job.  Okay, easier said than done.  The jobs are vacating to the countries they are handing money to.  I don’t get it.  If they want a tax break, there are plenty of charities here at home!  I just don’t feel like we can afford to be helping the rest of the world when, right now, we can’t much help ourselves. 

This is just going to open up a whole can of worms for me.  I just really wanted to get a few things off my chest and out…where?  I guess out here.  Maybe someone will actually read this and agree with me and maybe they will simply disagree.  We will skip the religion, because that would be a never-ending post!  🙂

Leave a comment